Sorry, the chat is offline.

Wine classification

Burgundy Grands crus

Burgundy Grand cru wines are produced from the small number of the best vineyard sites in the Côte d'Or. These wines make up 2% of the production and are generally produced in a style meant for cellaring, and typically need to be aged a minimum of five to seven years. The best examples can be kept for more than 15 years.

Examples of the most famous Burgundy Grand crus Appellations : Chambertin, Bonnes Mares, Musigny, Clos de Vougeot, La Romanée-Conti, La Tâche, Corton, Corton-Charlemagne, Montrachet, Bâtard-Montrachet, Chevaliers-Montrachet.

Burgundy Premiers crus

Premier cru wines are produced from specific vineyard sites that are still considered to be of high quality. Premier cru wines make up 12% of the Burgundy wine production. These wines often should be aged three to five years, and again the best wines can keep for much longer.

Burgundy Village

Village appellation wines are produced from a blend of wines from supposedly lesser vineyard sites within the boundaries of one of 42 villages, or from one individual but unclassified vineyard. Village winesmake up 36% of the Burgundy production. These wines can be consumed two to four years after the release date, although again some examples will keep for longer

AOC Burgundy

AOC Bourgogne, the standard or "generic" appellation for red or white wines made anywhere throughout the region, and represent simpler wines which are still similar to the village. These wines are typically intended for immediate consumption, within three years after the vintage date.

Bourgogne aligoté

Bourgogne Passe Tout Grains

Crémant de Bourgogne


Chablis wines are labeled using a similar hierarchy of Grand Cru, Premier Cru and Village wines, plus Petit Chablis as a level below Village Chablis.

Compare 0

No products

To be determined Shipping
0 € Total

Check out